Official Name: Republic of Trinidad and Tobago

Map of Trinidad and Tobago

Columbus landed on Trinidad on 31 August 1498 and named it after the Holy Trinity.

Trinidad and Tobago were incorporated into a single colony in 1888

Capital: Port of Spain

In 1956 the first political party emerged: the People's National Movement

People: Trinidadian(s) and Tobagonian(s)

Independance Day: 31 August 1962

In 1967 Trinidad became the first Commonwealth country to joint the Organisation of American States

Climate: Tropical: rainy season is from June to December